Samyama on Friendliness

by Allie

I have moved around often during my young adult life. It is something I pride myself in, the ability to adapt to new cultures and be brave while meeting new people. However, the biggest pitfalls of moving so often is having to make new friends and build a new community each time.

For the first time in many years I have felt a sense of belonging in San Francisco. After I read this sutra:

“By samyama on friendliness and other such qualities, the power to transmit them is obtained.”

I understood what I had been lacking to develop such communities. See, I never really took the time out of my day in an attempt to be a better person. When I moved to San Francisco I wanted to make this my home. My family has been here for a long time, so I began to rekindle friendships. Each day I would reflect on what I could do to create more relationships in my daily life.

I know you can only attract bee’s with honey, so I decided to become honey. I made a conscious effort to be honey. Thinking every time I sat on the mat, I wanted to be approachable, cheerful and someone that others suaght out. Each day, I practice this samyama, because it is the most important thing to me. Being completly alone or feeling isolated can be difficult. Surrounding myself with the right people that made me not feel lonely was a key point to this.

So each day, I made a concious effort to speak words of positivity. I smiled more often and finally, I laughed more.

I look around me now, I am mostly friendly. It has been the hardest lesson for me and continously tempts me each day. The hardest part of always being friendly is slowing down when I am in a rush.

I realize this more and more each day I think about my friendly actions.

It will come over time, MORE SAMYAMA.

 

