Weekend 1

by Allie

My first hatha yoga class not devised by Bikram, I am enlightened. I love the Bikram yoga method, it is great for a hardcore workout but it is predictable. Joy mentioned that some people like no surprises like McDonalds, you always know what you’re going to get. I think this is true but I find it easier to get into a meditative state where I can really channel my energy into myself and goals.

But then I went to Stephanie’s class, a teacher of the Purusha method and I am in love with hatha once again. Strengthening through stretching is an amazing thing that I truly believe to be a great work out.

I have continued to read the asana’s and teacher workbook and feel I have strong grasp of the 8 limbs of Raja yoga and the yamas and niyamas. Next I will try to learn the first 30 asanas and the true meaning of yoga from Patanjali.

I can’t wait to deepen my knowledge so I can begin to spread it!

